Movie Review: War of the Worlds: Goliath

I saw this rather unique movie a while ago. Since it’s not very well-known, I thought I should review it.

The story starts out depicting the invasion that happened in H. G. Well’s War of the Worlds, which happens in 1899, then it flashes forward to 1914, right on the cusp of what would have been WWI. Of course, the invasion in 1899 led to humanity developing more powerful weapons and some cool tripod walkers. Now, the aliens are back, and this time, humanity cannot depend on germs to wipe the invaders out.

Note on ratings:
*         Horrible.
**       Below average
***     Average. Not good or bad.
****   Above average
***** Above and beyond

Content:  The PG-13 rating is a fair rating since there’s swearing and violence. (The violence doesn’t bother me much since it felt realistic, not gore for the sake of gore.)

Originality and Setting: ***
Alien invasions are pretty overdone and this one had a similar plot line without much new as far as aliens go. It had a different setting, so that kept it from feeling like the dozens of other alien invasion movies, plus, most alien invasions are not animated.

Pacing and Action Sequences: ***
The pace starts out rather slow and then picks up for the action. I especially enjoyed the dog fights with the Red Barron.

Characters and their Arcs: **
This is one place that felt off to me. There were a lot of characters and the show did their best to develop them all. Because of this, no-one got developed that well due to the length of the show, so there weren’t any really solid character arcs. If it had been a TV series, they’d have been able to do better at this. It was a very diverse cast, so I had no trouble keeping track of the characters, and I didn’t get them mixed up.

Animation: ****
The animation was pretty good, though a few places felt to me like I could see that the CGI and traditional style animation were’t mixing quite right. It was easy for me to get used to the animation style, which felt like a bit of a mix between American and Japanese. It was a good style.

Overall Coolness Factor: *****
It’s a steampunk alien invasion with cool machines, the Red Barron taking down alien fighters, and it’s a like a movie sequel to War of the Worlds. It’s certainly got the coolness factor for sure.

My rating:

fourstar

About Jessi L. Roberts

I live and work on my family’s cattle ranch in eastern Montana. I have a flock of chickens, a hyper golden retriever, some cows, and a few horses. I enjoy fantasy and science fiction and my head is full of wild sci-fi story ideas, some involving apocalypses and others involving aliens. I have been published twice in Havok Magazine, an imprint of Splickity.
This entry was posted in Geekiness, Reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

