TV Review: Star Wars Rebels

MV5BMjMyNTc4NDI5OV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwMzI4OTg5MjE@._V1_SY317_CR1,0,214,317_AL_

Scource IMDb

 

Since it’s May the 4th, also known as Star Wars day, I decided I’d review a TV series, Star Wars Rebels.

Star Wars Rebels takes place about five years before the Original Trilogy, or about fifteen years after Revenge of the Sith.

The story follows Ezra, a Force sensitive teen who lost his parents to the Empire. During the course of the first episodes, he joins with a group of rebels and realizes there’s more to living than staying alive. Now, they’re being hunted by the Empire.

Note on ratings:
*         Horrible.
**       Below average
***     Average. Not good or bad.
****   Above average
***** Above and beyond

Content: It’s certainly in the modern PG range. A few of the early episodes are pretty light-hearted, but by the end of the series, there has been onscreen torture, quite a bit of killing, and some beheading that’s barely offscreen.

Originality and Setting: *****
It’s Star Wars, which is still around partially because it’s got a good setting and original idea. This season of Rebels takes place on Lothal, which is a backwater planet the Empire has taken over.

Pacing and Action Sequences: ****
The action sequences are very good, though the TV series does have a very episodic feel at first.

Characters and their Arcs: ****
Each character is quite unique and very well-designed. I especially like Zeb since I enjoy seeing nonhuman characters who are more than the monster of the week.
The show had at least one episode that focused on one or two crew members of the Ghost, giving watchers a good idea of who the characters are.
I think maybe the show could have done a bit better at stretching out a few of the character’s arcs throughout the show instead of getting them out of the way early on in the season.

Animation: ***
I’m not a big fan of the style of animation, but it’s probably because I’m not used to this style after the style used in The Clone Wars. I felt like some of the characters, mostly Kanan and Ezra, were over stylized. I prefer a more realistic style.

Episode Flow: ***
It started out very episodic, something I tend to dislike in TV shows. As the season progressed, the arcs got longer than an episode, and the episodes got harder to watch out of order. There was a bit of childishness in the earlier episodes that annoyed me. The series got much more serious at the end of the season, though it didn’t quite end up having the mood whiplash of some of The Clone Wars story arcs.

Addition to the Universe: ***
When The Clone Wars was canceled, I was pretty upset. Rebels has made a decent replacement, though I feel it still has a ways to go before reaching the depth of The Clone Wars or the Original Trilogy. It is a must-watch for any fan of The Clone Wars since there’s someone from The Clone Wars who shows up at the end, plus Season 2’s trailer is full of The Clone Wars characters. The Clone Wars took a while to get into its stride, so I’m going to give Rebels the benefit of the doubt.

My Rating:
fourstar

About Jessi L. Roberts

I live and work on my family’s cattle ranch in eastern Montana. I have a flock of chickens, a hyper golden retriever, some cows, and a few horses. I enjoy fantasy and science fiction and my head is full of wild sci-fi story ideas, some involving apocalypses and others involving aliens. I have been published twice in Havok Magazine, an imprint of Splickity.
This entry was posted in Geekiness, Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to TV Review: Star Wars Rebels

  1. Pingback: TV Review: Star Wars Rebels Season 2 | Jessi L. Roberts, author

Leave a Reply

