July Life Update

Summer’s here and things are busy on the ranch. My dad and brother are irrigating hay land with our new pivot, we’ve been moving cows, and the baby animals are growing.

A week or so ago, I went to our reservoir and took some pictures.

Piper

Piper being a bit more ladylike than the picture I posted a few months ago.

Owllets

Two young owls

Ducklings

Ducklings

Chicks

Remember those cute little chicks? They’ve grown.

Calves

And those little calves? They’ve grown too.

Misty-Ivy

Misty and Ivy, who are full sisters.

Angel

Their mother, Angel. She’s getting pretty old.

Milking-cow

My brother milking Misty. We still milk the old fashioned way, without a machine. This is why we like to have calves to do the milking for us, but milk cows tend to produce more than one calf can handle so we normally get a few orphaned calves to help. 

Flax

Blue flax flowering

Grapes

Grapes. I’m really hoping they survive the hail, frost, and birds this season.

About Jessi L. Roberts

I live and work on my family’s cattle ranch in eastern Montana. I have a flock of chickens, a hyper golden retriever, some cows, and a few horses. I enjoy fantasy and science fiction and my head is full of wild sci-fi story ideas, some involving apocalypses and others involving aliens. I have been published twice in Havok Magazine, an imprint of Splickity.
This entry was posted in Ranch, Updates and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to July Life Update

  1. I love the picture of the owls! And the not so baby animals! Looks like things are peaceful but great “on the farm”!

    Like

Leave a Reply

