Book Review: Inhuman

inhuman_front_cover-1

Lane’s father is a fetch, and fetches get executed. To save her father, she needs to journey through the Feral Zone and to Chicago to complete a fetch, but she’s never been over the Wall and has nothing to go on but the fairy tales her father told her. Or were they fairy tales?

Note on ratings:

*         Horrible.
**       Below average
***     Average. Not good or bad.
****   Above average
***** Above and beyond

Content: The book has quite a bit of violence. There are a few mentions of sex, but nothing really nasty. Lane tends to notice how hot guys are when they’re shirtless. I don’t recall any swearing, but I’m pretty desensitized to that.

Originality and world building: ****
The interaction between manimals, humans, and ferals was interesting. Overall, the worldbuilding felt pretty good, but the idea of a killer virus isn’t that original.

Characters and their Arcs: ****
It was interesting seeing Rafe get a little less wild and Lane stop using the hand sanitizer. Lane’s character flaw in the beginning seemed to be the fact that she was too nice. It’s foreshadowed with a kiss and comes back to bite her later on. Rafe has a sense of humor, which is pretty rare in dystopian.

Writing style and Pacing: *****
I couldn’t put this book down, and I was up way too late reading it because I lost track of time.

What I liked: Like I said, I couldn’t put the book down. I really like mutant animals and that kind of thing, so this book was more my flavor than some dystopian. It’s also refreshing not to have a sermon on global warming.

What I didn’t like: Lane kept mentioning how hot the guys were. Maybe I’m the only one, but to me, this gets old fast. I felt like Ty in Dark Life was more relatable than Lane, but Ty was a lot more relatable than most characters I read about.

My Rating:
fivestar

About Jessi L. Roberts

I live and work on my family’s cattle ranch in eastern Montana. I have a flock of chickens, a hyper golden retriever, some cows, and a few horses. I enjoy fantasy and science fiction and my head is full of wild sci-fi story ideas, some involving apocalypses and others involving aliens. I have been published twice in Havok Magazine, an imprint of Splickity.
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

