Book Review: Alienated Series

13574417

Two years after aliens make contact with Earth, Cara’s family is chosen to host one of the three alien exchange students in their home, but with anti-alien sentiment running high, it can’t end well.

Note on ratings:

*         Horrible.
**       Below average
***     Average. Not good or bad.
****   Above average
***** Above and beyond

Content: There isn’t that much violence, but there is some minor swearing and the romance gets pretty steamy. (Not quite to the point of sex, if I remember correctly, but very close.) Evolution is also considered a fact, something I disagree with.

Originality and world building: ****
The worldbuilding turns out to be shown better in the second book. The author did a good job of giving the aliens a foreign culture.

Characters and their Arcs: ***
The main characters go from tolerating one another to falling in love. It was nice to see things from the guy’s side, which is kind of rare in YA.

Writing style and Pacing: ****
These two books did keep me reading, so I’d say the pacing is decent.

What I didn’t like: As usual, both of the main characters find the other one attractive, even before they’re romantically involved. I also thought the romance went too far. I would have liked to see more action. The anti-alien “racists” also felt like cardboard cutout villains. Until near the end of the first book, they have no motivation, and yet they seem to be pretty common. I found this a bit strange considering the aliens had cured cancer.

What I liked: Aliens, even if they were basically another race of humans. The world building was pretty good too. I’d like to see more stories set in this world.

My Rating:

3halfstar

About Jessi L. Roberts

I live and work on my family’s cattle ranch in eastern Montana. I have a flock of chickens, a hyper golden retriever, some cows, and a few horses. I enjoy fantasy and science fiction and my head is full of wild sci-fi story ideas, some involving apocalypses and others involving aliens. I have been published twice in Havok Magazine, an imprint of Splickity.
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Book Review: Alienated Series

  1. Cait @ Paper Fury says:

    Ahh, I basically gave it the same rating as you! 😀 I liked it but I didn’t fall in love. My main quibble was that the aliens (particularly Alex) and their culture seemed sooo much like the Vulcan’s of Star Trek. And idek, I just don’t like it when things copy famous things! D: Otherwise I still need to read bk 2 but I did like the first one. 😀 I love the ice cream scene where he’s like “Here’s a bowl of diabetes” haha.
    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Like

Leave a Reply

