October Update: I’m Published

I kept this under wraps until I saw it in print, or at least digital form. This summer, I queried Havok Magazine, an imprint of Splickety Publishing Group with a short story about a girl with a monster under her bed. They accepted it! Here’s a screenshot from the free preview.

Published

Look who’s on page 12.

Now, onto some of the less writerly stuff. Here are some pictures of what it’s like on the ranch now.

Leaves

Fall is here, and with an abnormally late frost, we have some pretty leaves.

 

Piper-Sam

Piper and Sam playing.

Eclipse

The Lunar Eclipse. This was the best I could do with my camera.

One of my young roosters.

Fog at dawn. Fog isn’t very common here.

Pretty flowers. With the weather getting colder, I don’t know how much longer they’ll last.

I’ve also rewritten a short story and put it on Wattpad. This is the cover that I drew.

You can read it here.

About Jessi L. Roberts

I live and work on my family’s cattle ranch in eastern Montana. I have a flock of chickens, a hyper golden retriever, some cows, and a few horses. I enjoy fantasy and science fiction and my head is full of wild sci-fi story ideas, some involving apocalypses and others involving aliens. I have been published twice in Havok Magazine, an imprint of Splickity.
This entry was posted in My Stories, Ranch, Updates and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to October Update: I’m Published

  1. Caiti Marie says:

    Congratulations on getting published, Reb! That’s awesome. 🙂

    Your picture of the blood moon is great. What kind of camera did you have?

    Like

  2. FaithSong says:

    Congratulations! It’s pretty epic that you’re actually in print now.
    The picture of the fog is beautiful, as is the one of the blood moon. I stayed up until it was almost over here. It was prettiest when it was almost all the way covered.

    I’ve said so before, but that cover is gorgeous! 😀

    Like

    • Yep. I think I’m supposed to get the magazine sometime, but our mail is so slow. I want to see myself in physical print, not just digital.
      It was nice here because the moon went fully eclipsed while we were still awake. We did lose sight of it due to clouds, but like you can see, we got a good view.
      Thanks!

      Like

      • FaithSong says:

        *nods* Yeah, I understand that.
        *nods* Yeah, it went fully eclipsed before people went to bed, but I stayed up until there was just a tiny shadow on it. 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

