Beautiful Books: Powered

PAPERFURY

Since I’m not doing NaNo this year, I’m going to do the novel I’m working on.

How did you come up with the idea for your novel, and how long have you had the idea? I think I got it some time in 2013.

Why are you excited to write this novel? I’m working on redoing the first draft, and I think I’m close to the good part.

What is your novel about, and what is the title? It’s titled Powered. I’ll probably change the title since I don’t like the title. I just haven’t thought of anything better. It’s about a group of kids who have superpowers, but these powers are generally pretty weak compared to the powers you see in shows like Avengers. The best fighters would have trouble taking on Black Widow, and the telepaths are lucky if they can read minds, let alone do a telepathic attack. Theo and Neva are the main characters. Sorry, I don’t have a cool-sounding description.

Sum up your characters in one word each. (Feel free to add pictures!) Neva: Loner  Theo: Sacrificial  Razor: Vigilante

Which character(s) do you think will be your favorite to write? Tell us about them! Neva is probably my favorite. She’s quite cynical, and she’s pretty good in a fight.

What is your protagonist’s goal, and what stands in the way? Theo wants to have a team of superheroes, but he’s in a world where there are no adult heroes to offer guidance. Neva wants to be left alone, but some meddling kids, namely Theo, keep getting in her way.

Where is your novel set? (Show us pictures if you have them!) It’s set in a futuristic Denver after an economic collapse. A large part of the city is a bad side of town controlled by gangs. Cops rarely venture into that part. The economy is still in poor shape, so most people are living on the edge of poverty.

What is the most important relationship your character has? Theo has a younger brother. Neva has no relationship she wants to be in.

How does your protagonist change by the end of the novel? That would be a spoiler.

What themes are in your book? How do you want your readers to feel when the story is over? Good question. I’m hoping the theme will show itself since I’m not sure what it is yet.

BONUS! Tell us your 3 best pieces of advice for others trying to write a book in a month. I should do a blog post on this since I’d have more than three pieces of advice.

About Jessi L. Roberts

I live and work on my family’s cattle ranch in eastern Montana. I have a flock of chickens, a hyper golden retriever, some cows, and a few horses. I enjoy fantasy and science fiction and my head is full of wild sci-fi story ideas, some involving apocalypses and others involving aliens. I have been published twice in Havok Magazine, an imprint of Splickity.
This entry was posted in Blogging Related, My Stories and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

