Book Review: Wings of Fire Series

Quite a while ago, I read the first Wings of Fire book, or more specifically, listened to it on audio. I hadn’t expected it to be very good, but after reading the first two books, I  was hooked.

Book1_Smaller

Plot:
Five young dragons were prophesied to end a civil war between three dragon queens, but one of the five was killed before it even hatched, proving that the prophecy is not set in stone. Now, the four dragonets of the prophecy and a last minute replacement need to figure out how to end the war that started long before their hatching.

This review will cover the seven currently published books. For those who read this review later, Winter Turning is the most recent book I’ve read.

Note on ratings:

*         Horrible.
**       Below average
***     Average. Not good or bad.
****   Above average
***** Above and beyond

Content: ***** (Content based off my personal level of squeamishness.)
Some violence including main characters killing other dragons humans getting eaten, not by the main characters, and the usual war-related loss of life. No swearing or sex. Probably deserves a PG rating.

Originality and world building: ****
Having a story about dragons is pretty neat. Humans, called “scavengers,” are only a minor element.

Characters and their Arcs: ****
Each character gets an arc in the book that’s about them. Some weren’t that interesting, but I really liked Glory and Moon.

Writing style and Pacing: *****
The pacing is fast, making it very hard to put these books down.

What I liked:
The pace. There wasn’t much to dislike in these books, though I guess I might not have related really well to some of the characters.

What I didn’t like:
These books feel super short, which isn’t surprising considering they’re intended for MG audiences. It was sometimes a disappointment finishing a book because I wanted to read more from that character’s point of view instead of being stuffed into another dragon’s head.

Is it worth reading?
Yes, most definitely. Since it’s pretty clean, I’d also recommend it to younger readers.

My Rating:

Fourhalfstar

About Jessi L. Roberts

I live and work on my family’s cattle ranch in eastern Montana. I have a flock of chickens, a hyper golden retriever, some cows, and a few horses. I enjoy fantasy and science fiction and my head is full of wild sci-fi story ideas, some involving apocalypses and others involving aliens. I have been published twice in Havok Magazine, an imprint of Splickity.
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

