Author Interview: Amy Covel

971309_546924028691101_1789996780_n

Today, I’m interviewing Amy Covel, a friend and fellow artist I met at the Florida Christian Writer’s Conference.

Tell us a little about yourself.

Hello, I’m Amy Covel, fantasy writer and artist, and Mentor, Leader, and World changer. I am currently pursuing my BA in Human Communication to work for Nonprofits to save the world one child at a time.

What are you currently geeking about? (A new book, a movie, a TV show, something else?)
Currently, I am reading through the ongoing Attack on Titan manga. One chapter comes out every month, so it’s really hard to wait. I’m also watching the cutesy parody Junior High that makes fun of its darker and grittier anime counterpart.
Also, I’m watching my sister play through Final Fantasy VIII. The main character Squall has been my fictional character crush for five years. Of course, I enjoy it for its deep and thought-provoking concepts as well.

What are you working on now?
I am currently working on my dark-fantasy/dystopian novel SLATE. It’s about an organization that offers a clean slate to criminals in exchange for their services. The goal is to fight back crime and prove that good still exists in the city to spare it from being destroyed by the higher powers. (Think Sodom and Gomorrah from the Bible.) Things get complicated, of course, when my hero has to choose between his own personal agenda and the good of the city.

Now, tell us about your favorite project or close second, if you already told us about your favorite.
I’m also busy brainstorming, drawing, and writing for Heartstrings. It’s an end-of-the-world story where a virus attacks people’s hearts and causes them to go insane, destroy everything around them, and then self-destruct. In order to counteract this, artificial bodies known as Ribcages are designed for these infected people in order to sustain their unstable hearts, and they are given Puppet Masters to train them how to use their new bodies. My main character is one of the many with this virus and he is trying to redefine how people see those with the HS virus.

How did you get into writing?
I have always been “writing.” My early stories were wordless storyboards or dictated script typed up by my mom. Then, they took form in stories with my toys or adventures with my friends. When I learned to spell, I was able to pen stories down on my own.
However, I believe I officially became a writer five years ago when I got my heavenly calling and wrote my first novel—a several hundred-page monstrosity. Since then, I’ve written three novels. One of those is SLATE, which I’m currently rewriting.

What advice would you give to beginning writers?
“It’s always worth it.” That’s one of my favorite quotes and life mottos. You’re going to want to give up. Don’t. Try to envision your end-goal. Remember why you are writing, and keep writing. But it’s ok to feel discouraged—we all do—just don’t let that stop you. All the pain, all the blocks, all the restless nights—it’s all worth it.

What about experienced writers?
Share your secrets! Newbies love to know how you made it as far as you did. Show them your road to success. Also, stay humble through your success, and hopeful through your own discouragement.

What are some of your favorite books, authors, movies, and/or TV shows?
I owe classic literature and the Redwall series for shaping my writing style today. Classics taught me how to write themes and well-developed characters. The Scarlet Letter is my favorite, because that’s when books truly came alive for me and gave me my first “wow” moment. The Lord of the Rings series, as well as Narnia, taught me about the magic of fantasy. Redwall taught me how to write multiple plots, heroic leads, and dastardly villains.
I also watch anime and read manga, with discretion. They’ve taught me a lot about myself and my writing. I especially love Naruto and Your Lie in April. Naruto was my first official anime, and it has changed who I am today. Its messages of love, redemption, and courage are phenomenal. I have cried too many times in that show.
Your Lie in April is my favorite anime. I cried even harder in it. It’s a beautiful story about love and healing and perseverance. It’s about musicians, but their struggles and triumphs are very applicable for the writer’s life. I highly recommend it. The female lead is one of my favorite characters of all time. She will change your life.
I’m also really enjoying Attack on Titan’s prequel called Before the Fall, which takes place seventy years prior to the main series. In some ways, I like it better than the original because it is much more like Naruto in the feels department, and the male and female lead are so cute.
I’m also a gamer, but not in the traditional way. I actually prefer to watch the cutscenes rather than play them, the exception being Harvest Moon. That game allows me to utilize my home-keeping, care-taker, and interpersonal skills that I’m so proud of. I also love Fire Emblem, Ace Attorney, Kingdom Hearts, and Final Fantasy. These have all left an impact on me and taught me so much about life.

Any closing words?
Jessi, thank you so much for interviewing me. It was such an honor, and I loved it. Readers, please check out Jessi’s works—she’s an amazing writer!

Where can we find you?
Check me out on Instagram to find cosplay photos, inspirational quotes, and heartfelt posts.
Check me out on Deviantart, where I upload cosplay, fanart, and original characters.
Check me out on Facebook if you have similar interests or would like to learn more about my stories.

About Jessi L. Roberts

I live and work on my family’s cattle ranch in eastern Montana. I have a flock of chickens, a hyper golden retriever, some cows, and a few horses. I enjoy fantasy and science fiction and my head is full of wild sci-fi story ideas, some involving apocalypses and others involving aliens. I have been published twice in Havok Magazine, an imprint of Splickity.
This entry was posted in Author Interview. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

