Goals and Achievements

I’m doing another blog linkup thing with PaperFury.

10928109_595959117172101_1450331761_n201_zpsw3b8il6s

 

What were your writing achievements last year?
I got published in Havok Magazine, got a rough draft of The Red Tattoo done, and I’ve done some editing on Hand of Steel. I also went to the FCWC and pitched at agents and publishers, with some luck but no book deals.

Tell us about your top priority writing project for this year?
I want to get The Red Tattoo to the point of being publishable. I’m currently working on the second draft, which is going to need a lot of editing.
I also want to publish Hand of Steel, most likely independently. Being a novella, there isn’t much of a market for it.

List 5 areas you’d like to work the hardest to improve this year.
Getting my sentences to be pretty.
Getting better at querying.
Eventually figuring out how to have a romantic relationship in a story, though I think that story will be something other than The Red Tattoo.
Keeping a writer’s group together.
Figuring out how to get people to follow me.

Are you participating in any writing challenges?
Not at the moment.

What’s your critique partner/beta reader situation like and do you have plans to expand this year?
I’ve got a few betas, but they’re not really “partners” right now. I’d like to get some solid writing partners.

Do you have plans to read any writer-related books this year? Or are there specific books you want to read for research?
No plans yet. I did read a pair of books about WWI and WWII and it gave me some ideas for my story. Don’t worry, I’m not basing my villains of Nazis.

Pick one character you want to get to know better, and how are you going to achieve this?
Rolko. He’s Savora’s little brother. Savora is the main character in The Red Tattoo, but Rolko is going to have a point of view in this second draft.

Do you plan to edit or query, and what’s your plan of attack?
I’m going to have to edit The Red Tattoo, and I’ve got a few betas reading through Hand of Steel, so I need to consider their feedback and attack with another round of edits.

Toni Morrison once said, “If there’s a book that you want to read, but it hasn’t been written yet, then you must write it.” What are the books that you want to see more of, and what “holes” do you think need filling in the literary world?
I want to see more space opera in the YA genre, especially stuff with aliens. Other than a few dystopian-ish stories that have a lot of romance, there isn’t much in that genre. With the popularity of Star Wars, this seems like a hole that needs filling.

What do you hope to have achieved by the end of 2016?
Being a published author.

About Jessi L. Roberts

I live and work on my family’s cattle ranch in eastern Montana. I have a flock of chickens, a hyper golden retriever, some cows, and a few horses. I enjoy fantasy and science fiction and my head is full of wild sci-fi story ideas, some involving apocalypses and others involving aliens. I have been published twice in Havok Magazine, an imprint of Splickity.
This entry was posted in Blogging Related, Spaceverse, Updates and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Goals and Achievements

  1. Olivia Hofer says:

    Congratulations on being published in Havok!

    In my current WIP I’m trying my hand at a romantic plot element (albeit an understated and tragic one) for the first time. It’s an interesting challenge.

    I wish you all the best in your goals for 2016!

    Like

Leave a Reply

