Character Interview: Savora

Savorabg

Today, I’m interviewing Savora from my current project, The Red Tattoo. The story is about Savora, a young Elba, who is captured by the Chix when she stays behind so her brother and a group of refugees can escape. After her capture, she’s sold to an evil pitmaster who forces her into fights with various other creatures.

 

Savora: *steps into the room, her ears twitching and tilted slightly backward.*

Me: I thought these interview things looked fun, so I figured we could do one. *Points to a pair of chairs.* Have a seat.

Savora: *Folds her arms across her chest.* I’d prefer to remain standing.

Me: Okay. Let’s get started. This is from MusicalFire. “How old are you, and what stage of life are you in?”

Savora: I’m sixteen Spacer years old, which would make me four years from adulthood, though, with the war on, I’d have likely been forced into it at eighteen. We Elbas age at about the same rate as the other species. I guess I’m what you’d call a teenager.

Me: Interesting. I hadn’t realized you weren’t considered adults until twenty. This is from Victoria. “What do you do for fun?”

Savora: *Growls* I’m locked in a cage. There’s no such thing as fun.

Me: Well, what about before that?

Savora: We were starving, but back when I was a kid, I used to fantasize about how I’d win the war. *Her ears droop.* That was before the war started.

Me: MandalorianKnight asks, “What is one of your favorite hobbies to do in your spare time?”

Savora: Now? Probably watch the people outside my cage. Back before the war, Rolko, that’s my brother, and I used to play war games. *Sighs* That was before we knew about real wars.

Me: Here’s one from Rogue Knight. “What would you do if you had been able to escape with your brother?”

Savora: *Winces* I don’t know, not really. I’d probably still be on Lokostwa, which is better than here but still not good. Maybe we could have managed to escape to Tupra. That would be nice.

Me:  Ahsoka626 asks, “What’s the biggest way the war has affected you?”

Savora: It would be easier to ask how it hasn’t affected us. Before the war, we had some coin. After it started, Dad was gone, we had to flee to the mountains, which didn’t work, then I got captured. It’s ruined all our lives.

Me: Here are some from Klonvon, “Tell me about your parents.  Did they raise you? Where are they now?”

Savora: Yes, they raised me. Mom’s still alive, along with Rolko. They’re probably starving somewhere on Lokostwa. Dad, *shakes head* I’d rather not talk about it.

Me: Ahsoka626 says “You’re so pretty, Savora! Would you say you look more like your dad or your mom?”

Savora: I got my Mom’s green eyes, so I look a bit more like her. Rolko’s got slightly lighter fur like Dad. I’m guessing I’d have been taller than Mom, so I probably got Dad’s build too. Mom’s on the short side, so she’s almost Human height.

Me: Here’s some more from Klonvon. “If you could live any way you wanted, what would you be eating right now?”

Savora: I’d probably be on Tupra. I hear they’ve got some of their corral stuff that can be cooked into decent food, but I’ve never been there so I don’t know.

Me: How quickly do you fall asleep? Are you a light or heavy sleeper? What’s your nightly ritual like?b

Savora: I’m probably a light sleeper. You see, Elbas have really good ears, so we hear stuff and wake up. I don’t really have a ritual, just curl up and wait until I fall asleep. I’m normally tired enough I don’t have much trouble falling asleep.

Me: Does your species see color any differently then humans?

Savora: Our color vision is quite a bit like Humans’ vision. We don’t see distant things as well though. We’ve got really good night vision and we can use echolocation, so I think that’s a good tradeoff.

Me: Any allergies?

Savora: Not that I know of.

Me: This one’s from Athelas. “What’s your oldest memory?”

Savora: I don’t know which is the oldest, but I do remember sneaking off and digging myself a tunnel when I was pretty young. I was excited, until the roof collapsed. Luckily, the ceiling was only about two inches thick.

Me: Another one from Athelas. “Any best friends?”

Savora: Before we fled, I knew a few other Elba kids, but they kind of had their own group. I guess my brother Rolko is probably my best friend. I didn’t have any friends in the refugee village. The Torf kids kind of stayed away from us since we’re bigger.

Me: Now we’ve got some more serious ones from Faithsong. First, If you could choose, how would you die?

Savora: I’d want to go down fighting to save the people I love, and succeed at saving them.

Me: Who do you hate the most?

Savora: That’s easy. Hardath, the slave master who bought me. I’d like to rip his throat out.

Me: On the flipside, who do you love enough to die for?

Savora: My brother. Mom wouldn’t like me dying for her. There are a few others I’d like to protect, mostly kids stuck in a war they didn’t make.

Me: That will be all for now. Thank you for taking the time to do this, Savora.

Savora: *Bows head* You’re welcome.

And because she lives such a grim life, here is a happier picture of her by Chill13.

Savora Fury Chill

About Jessi L. Roberts

I live and work on my family’s cattle ranch in eastern Montana. I have a flock of chickens, a hyper golden retriever, some cows, and a few horses. I enjoy fantasy and science fiction and my head is full of wild sci-fi story ideas, some involving apocalypses and others involving aliens. I have been published twice in Havok Magazine, an imprint of Splickity.
This entry was posted in Art, Characters, Spaceverse and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

