Book Review: Words of Radiance

7b69c771ca-6528-4edb-9db1-e93fa61dc4b77dimg400

Something is coming, something never seen before.

Kaladin has moved up from the lowest of the low to the highest ranking darkeye in existence. Now, he and the former bridgemen are tasked with guarding the royal family, but is it better for the kingdom to protect the inept king or to assassinate him?

Dalinar tries to dominate the highprinces, but now, he’s changed tactic. It’s time to let his son dual.

Shallan must master her powers, but she’d rather deny her dark secret.

Note on ratings:

*           Horrible.
**         Below average
***       Average. Not good or bad.
****    Above average
***** Above and beyond

Content: **** (Content based off my personal level of squeamishness.)
The usual violence, including a cold-blooded murder, and some minor swearing. One passionate kiss.

Originality and world building: *****
As usual, Sanderson excels here.

Characters and their Arcs: *****
Shallan is the main focus of this story. I liked her, and it was interesting to see her strike out on her own.
Kaladin is still my favorite. I liked the last book’s arc involving him more, but this one is still pretty good.
Dalinar and Andolin are both okay, though I find Andolin much more interesting. I liked his interaction with Kaladin, and there’s a really cool scene in there.

Writing style and Pacing: ****
I felt the pacing was a bit off. It was easy to get into the book, but the story started out so well that the ending didn’t have as much rise to it as it could have. Still, having everything equally awesome is pretty fun.

What I liked:
The whole book. I had trouble putting it down. Some very good action scenes, especially a dual, and there was heartstring tugging scene involving Andolin and Kaladin that I really liked after that. It’s also fun to read a good book that I can’t finish in two days.

What I didn’t like:
There were a few chapters about random characters that weren’t as interesting. Oh, and sleep deprivation. I stayed up quite late reading this book because I couldn’t stop and it’s too long to finish in a night.

Is it worth reading?
Yes. Just watch out for the sleep deprivation.

My Rating:

fivestar

About Jessi L. Roberts

I live and work on my family’s cattle ranch in eastern Montana. I have a flock of chickens, a hyper golden retriever, some cows, and a few horses. I enjoy fantasy and science fiction and my head is full of wild sci-fi story ideas, some involving apocalypses and others involving aliens. I have been published twice in Havok Magazine, an imprint of Splickity.
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

