Book Review: Resistance

resistance-jayelknight

A young man, haunted by his past and mixed blood, and a girl, forced to hide her faith under the Emperor’s nose, must survive and keep their faith with persecution on the rise.

Note on ratings:

*           Horrible.
**         Below average
***       Average. Not good or bad.
****    Above average
***** Above and beyond

Content: **** (Content based off my personal level of squeamishness.)
Some torture, not graphic, and of course action violence. Rape hinted at.

Originality and world building: ***
The world seems somewhat run of the mill fantasy. I did like how there was a good reason for persecution and the politics seemed to be thought out decently. I want to know more about the ryrik species.

Characters and their Arcs: ****
I enjoyed Jace. I’m glad I read Half-blood before reading this book since it gave me a better view of him. (I highly recommend Half-blood, by the way.) Kyrin was okay, and I admired her faith, since it was something that makes one think about what they’d do in her situation.

Writing style and Pacing: ****
This book was good, but a bit easier to put down than I liked. Of course, the fact that I was reading multiple library books and vacationing in New Zealand while reading it may have had something to do with that.

What I liked:
The Christian message was really good and fit for the world. It felt like it fit.

What I didn’t like:
There’s not much to dislike. I would have liked to see a bit more action.

Is it worth reading?
Yep.

My Rating:

fourstar

About Jessi L. Roberts

I live and work on my family’s cattle ranch in eastern Montana. I have a flock of chickens, a hyper golden retriever, some cows, and a few horses. I enjoy fantasy and science fiction and my head is full of wild sci-fi story ideas, some involving apocalypses and others involving aliens. I have been published twice in Havok Magazine, an imprint of Splickity.
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

