Book Review: Kenan

CgGjAIMWQAAKLJR.jpg-large

Kris knows how to treat wounds, so when she sees a man shot during a bombing, she rushes in to help. Trouble is, her patient is a hitman. Within the day, Krys, her two roommates, and four elite hitmen gone rogue are on the run from an international terrorist organization.

 

Note on ratings:

*           Horrible.
**         Below average
***       Average. Not good or bad.
****    Above average
***** Above and beyond

Content: **** (Content based off my personal level of squeamishness.)
Lots of action violence and blood loss, but nothing graphic. I can’t recall any swearing, unless it was in Turkish.

Originality and world building: ****
World building is kind of light, which isn’t a problem for a book like this since it kept it from getting mired down in politics like some other stories I’ve read, though I did wish I knew a bit more about the political situation. I enjoyed that the author didn’t seem to be visibly pushing an agenda. The plot line is pretty good.

Characters and their Arcs: ****
This is where the book excelled. Each character had their own personality and quirks. I think the arcs are probably going to be series-long, so the arcs weren’t that huge. Bener was probably my favorite of the four hitmen.

Writing style and Pacing: *****
The writing is quite sound. If anything, the pacing may have been a bit fast, but then again, I’m not that experienced with thrillers.

What I liked:
The characters and the mental image of four tough hitmen running around with three American girls. The humor in here is quite funny too, and the relationships between the characters.

What I didn’t like:
I didn’t get some things done because I couldn’t put this book down.

Is it worth reading?
Yes, and it’s not very expensive on Kindle. Also, there are some shorts here. (Note that you should read the oldest ones first. Some of the new ones have spoilers for the first book.)

My Rating:

Fourhalfstar

 

About Jessi L. Roberts

I live and work on my family’s cattle ranch in eastern Montana. I have a flock of chickens, a hyper golden retriever, some cows, and a few horses. I enjoy fantasy and science fiction and my head is full of wild sci-fi story ideas, some involving apocalypses and others involving aliens. I have been published twice in Havok Magazine, an imprint of Splickity.
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Book Review: Kenan

  1. Claire B. says:

    Love this book!! 🙂

    Like

  2. Wow, this is a really intriguing idea! I’m not much into real-life war stories, but I might have to check it sometime.

    Alexa
    thessalexa.blogspot.com
    verbosityreviews.com

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

