Author Interview: Alexa from Summer Snowflakes

Today, I’m interviewing Alexa from Summer Snowflakes.

untitled2bdesign

Tell us a little about yourself: Well, I guess the most important thing for anyone to know about me is that I’m a Christian. After that, I’m a writer, a reader, and a truly insane nerdy fangirl who’s technically INTJ. I’m the type of person who can go from 100%, Spock-level-logical to A-One-Direction-Fangirl-Flailing in 60 seconds flat. I am really quite the paradox.

What are you currently excited about? (A new book, a movie, a TV show, something else?) 
Really, the things I’m excited about aren’t particularly new. I’m super into Hamilton, loved it since I first heard it back in the fall, but I’ve re-fallen-love in the past week or so and am now just… helpless like I was when I was first listening. 😉 Also, Star Wars. But that is because I will always love Star Wars, now and forever ❤

What project are you working on now? A few things actually. Obviously, my blogs, as well as a contemporary foster care story, currently title Low Expectations, last year’s NaNoWriMo, a rural fangirl fantasy called The Wizard Apocalypse, and a sci-fi dystopian I’m working on with a friend, Becoming Brave. I’m also considering starting a freelance editing business for other novelists.

Now, tell us about your favorite project or close second, if the one you’re working on is your favorite. Ahhh… wow. I don’t even know. I love all of my projects SO MUCH—I mean, if I didn’t I wouldn’t bother with them—that it’s hard to pick a favorite. But a project I love and haven’t talked about yet… Well, I have a teen spy thriller that’s been on the back burner for a while, but I truly can’t wait to get back to it. It’s currently titled What’s Real, and it’s a sort of teenage Agents of Shield meets National Treasure plus some psychological stuff. At least that’s what I hope it’ll be, lol. But I still need to do some more research.

How did you get into writing? That’s actually kind of a long story, but to keep it short: I started writing stories about my paper dolls when I was about 5 or 6, came back to that series  off and on, had a fanfiction phase (that is actually still going) beginning when I was about 11; but I didn’t actually get serious about writing until the November I was 14, when my mom told me about NaNoWriMo. I didn’t have anything better to do that particular month, lol, so I went ahead and tried it. I started two weeks in, wrote 14,000 words, finished my first real project (which eventually became Low Expectations), and more or less discovered what I wanted to be when I grew up.

What advice would you give to beginning writers? Just write. When you’re first starting out, I think the most important things for you to do are just write and don’t worry about anything else—don’t worry about how good you are, what everyone else is doing, what others say you should be doing. None of that is important right now. Simply put a pen to paper—or your fingers on the keyboard—because that’s the only way you’ll know if writing is what you really want to do and it’s the best way to get acquainted with your story and your style. So yeah, if you’re just getting into this writing thing, lock away all your inhibitions and simply get the words down.

What about experienced writers? Haha, well, truthfully, I’m not even sure I’m an experienced writer, but for people around the same level as me, I think that researching the market is really important. Look up all the details of the publishing industry, figure out where you fit, what kind of author you’d like to be, and which branch of the industry would work best for you: self-publishing, agents, straight to a publishing house, or something in between.
Also, network. Networking is really important. If you can, enter writing contests, join a writer’s group, go to a conference, something like that so you can get a picture of where your skill level is and meet some people in the writing community. If those are outside your range of possibility right now, use the internet. There are all kinds of online writing communities you can become a part of that will offer tips, encouragement, and really help you learn more about the business side of publishing.

What are some of your favorite books, authors, movies, and/or TV shows? Haha, anyone who’s followed me for a while knows that my favorites can change on a daily basis. But as of today, my all-time favorite books are either the Tiger’s Curse series by Colleen Houck or The Safe Lands series by Jill Williamson, my favorite movie is Revenge of the Sith, and my favorite TV show is BBC’s Merlin.

Any closing words? Just have fun! Writing, blogging, whatever your creative pursuit is, it’s supposed to be something you enjoy. I mean, it’ll surely be difficult sometimes and you’ll have your share of bad days; but overall, it should be something that excites you and that you more-often-than-not want to come back to.

Where can we find you? (Links to social media) Well, I’m on two blogs, Verbosity Reviews, and Summer Snowflakes, as well as Pinterest, and Goodreads.

Thanks so much for having me Jessi!

About Jessi L. Roberts

I live and work on my family’s cattle ranch in eastern Montana. I have a flock of chickens, a hyper golden retriever, some cows, and a few horses. I enjoy fantasy and science fiction and my head is full of wild sci-fi story ideas, some involving apocalypses and others involving aliens. I have been published twice in Havok Magazine, an imprint of Splickity.
This entry was posted in Author Interview and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Author Interview: Alexa from Summer Snowflakes

  1. Thanks so much for doing this interview with me! Also, I tagged you for The Power of Words tag, if you’d like to check that out. Don’t feel obligated, but if you want to, here’s the link. 🙂 https://thessalexa.blogspot.com/2016/07/power-of-words-tag.html

    Like

  2. Pingback: Four Storyworlds I Actually Wouldn’t Mind Living In (or at least having a visit to) – Verbosity Reviews

Leave a Reply

