Recommendations of 2016

Here are some good things I discovered in 2016.

Books

Mistborn Series By Brandon Sanderson
This is a great series. The first trilogy subverts many fantasy tropes by starting a thousand years after the evil ruler took over the kingdom. The setting is a dark and gloomy fantasy dystopian. I really loved the characters, the humor, and the spiritual musings.
The sequel series is set about 300 years afterward, so it’s in the Wild West era, complete with a train robbery and even more funny characters.

A Time to Die by Nadine Brandes
This is one I’d wanted to  read for a while. It’s the first of a Christian dystopian trilogy set in a world where everyone, save the main character, knows exactly when they’re going to die.

30964339Jupiter Winds by C.J. Darlington
Another Christian dystopian with space travel and extinct animals. The story’s setting was quite interesting.


Space Drifters
by Paul Regnier

A very humorous space opera about the misadventures of a starship captain and his motley crew, some of which aren’t technically his crew.

Ones I’ve already reviewed: Blood for Blood, Resistance, Shatterworld, Kenan, and Amish Vampires in Space.

 

TV and Movies

Star Wars Rebels
I’m still a big fan of Star Wars, and this show is entertaining, though not as political as The Clone Wars.

Voltron: Legendary Defender
Though the plot line of kids who fly around in giant alien mechas might seem a bit weird, it has good characters, pretty animation, and aliens. By now, you should know I’m a sucker for alien stories.

True Memoirs of an International Assassin 
An author who writes a first person story about an assassin gets kidnapped after he’s mistaken for a legendary assassin called the Ghost. This is a hilarious must for anyone who writes or has family who writes.

Captain America: Civil War
This one is pretty good and a bit more original than the average superhero movie.

Rogue One

 

Webcomics

I already did a post about this, but then I found Space Boy and a friend of mine started a writer comic called Boople Doodles. Also, Super Strike 10 is updating with more awesome pages.

cy3rb7fwgaagkg3

In other news, I’ve been doing some drawing. Here’s a picture I did of Savora.

savora_blizzard_by_rebel_rider-dat6hvo

And here’s a warhound, Fury, running.fury_run_animation_by_rebel_rider-dasymgw

About Jessi L. Roberts

I live and work on my family’s cattle ranch in eastern Montana. I have a flock of chickens, a hyper golden retriever, some cows, and a few horses. I enjoy fantasy and science fiction and my head is full of wild sci-fi story ideas, some involving apocalypses and others involving aliens. I have been published twice in Havok Magazine, an imprint of Splickity.
This entry was posted in Art, Geekiness, Musings, Spaceverse, Spaceverse and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Recommendations of 2016

  1. I’ve had A Time to Die on my shelf for a year and haven’t read it. :p I need to try to get to that this year.

    I started Voltron, but got busy and didn’t finish it. I’d like to go back eventually though; it was pretty good.
    I LOVE CAPTAIN AMERICA: CIVIL WAR. I thought it was amazing.

    Alexa
    thessalexa.blogspot.com
    verbosityreviews.com

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s a good time to read A Time to Die since the whole trilogy is out now.
      The second season of Voltron is coming out this month and the first season ends with a cliff-hanger, so it’s a great time to finish that one too. Have you been watching Star Wars Rebels? This second half of the season looks pretty good.
      It was pretty good. There were a few things that felt illogical to me, but certainly an enjoyable movie.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

