Beautiful Books: Hand of Steel

beautiful books

I’m posting early since I’ll be gone on Monday.

I decided to do one of these linkups since I haven’t done one in a while.

Questions:

  1. What were your writing achievements last year?
    I was published for a second time in Havok magazine, I did some polishing on Hand of Steel, and I wrote and edited The Red Tattoo.
  2. What’s on your writerly “to-do list” for 2017?
    Self-publish Hand of Steel, print Country in Chaos, and do more editing on The Red Tattoo. Also, maybe write some other book.
  3. Tell us about your top-priority writing projects for this year!
    Getting Hand of Steel published. First, I want to work on printing Country in Chaos, though I do not believe I will publish it since I don’t think it’s good enough.
  4. How do you hope to improve as a writer? Where do you see yourself at the end of 2017?
    Hopefully with readers.
  5. Describe your general editing process.
    Write the rough draft. Leave the book to set for a few months. Rewrite. Remove big boring parts and edit anything else I see. Send out to betas. Get feedback. Fix problems. Repeat.
  6. On a scale of 1-10, how do you think this draft turned out?
    For Hand of Steel, pretty good, but I still have a few issues I need to work on. I’d say after the amount of editing I’ve done, it’s probably a 8.
  7. What aspect of your draft needs the most work?
    The middle.
  8. What do you like the most about your draft?
    The pacing is pretty fast, and I like my worldbuilding, even if explaining it can be hard.
  9. What are your plans for this novel once you finish editing? More edits? Finding beta readers? Querying? Self-publishing? Hiding it in a dark hole forever?
    Self-publishing. I’d try querying, but it’s too short for most presses.
  10. What’s your top piece of advice for those just finished writing a first draft?
    Don’t expect it to be perfect. You might need to rewrite.
About Jessi L. Roberts

I live and work on my family’s cattle ranch in eastern Montana. I have a flock of chickens, a hyper golden retriever, some cows, and a few horses. I enjoy fantasy and science fiction and my head is full of wild sci-fi story ideas, some involving apocalypses and others involving aliens. I have been published twice in Havok Magazine, an imprint of Splickity.
This entry was posted in Blogging Related, My Stories, Spaceverse and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Beautiful Books: Hand of Steel

  1. YOU’RE SELF PUBLISHING!!!!! Yay!!!! Can’t wait to read some or your work.

    Like

  2. Caiti Marie says:

    I know you put a lot of thought into choosing to self-publish. Can you elaborate on some of the reasons you made that decision?

    Like

    • There are a few.
      Hand of Steel is a novella, which makes it too short for most legitimate agents or publishers to look at, but I also believe it’s my best work to date. I believe that, if it were the right length, it would be up to publishable standards. The other novel in the universe isn’t good enough for publication yet, and I’m not sure I want to wait until it is good enough.
      Another issue is that I’m writing Christian YA space opera. There are very few decent-sized presses that are willing to take this sort of thing. This means even with the novel, there aren’t many options. I could go with a small press, but when it comes to small presses, I’m picky because I need to know that the partnership is good for both of us. (I don’t want to end up with a small press that has less credibility than I have, and does very little other than take a percentage of my story while I do all the legwork.)
      I may partner with a hybrid press, since there are a few that work with Realm Makers authors. One of these might allow me credibility, but I wouldn’t be so tied down if things didn’t work out.

      Like

Leave a Reply

