Beautiful People: Author Writing Process

 

Firstly, thank you, Teddi of The Christian SpecFic Reader for sharing my review.

Now onto this post. I’m busy editing The Red Tattoo and haven’t had much time for blog posts, plus I don’t like posting if I can’t think of anything good to say.

Here’s a link to the original questions.

 

  1. How do you decide which project to work on?
    Mostly by figuring out which one I know how to fix or write, or the one that I want to publish.
  2. How long does it usually take you to finish a project?
    Nothing is published yet, and they’re not “finished” until they’re published since I never stop editing, so I don’t know. The first draft takes between one and three months to write depending on the length, the second draft takes a similar amount of time, but I try to take time off between drafts, then editing takes I-don’t-know-how-long.
  3. Do you have any routines to put you in the writing mood?
    Listening to music.
  4. What time of day do you write best?
    I used to say night, but now I’m not sure. Probably that time when I have a deadline.
  5. Are there any authors you think you have a similar style to?
    Not really, but since Bryan Davis has been my mentor or sorts, I would guess that’s led to my style leaning his way. I think I remember a friend thought my style was similar to Brandon Sanderson. Since Sanderson gets three figure book deals, I hope that friend is right.
  6. Why did you start writing, and why do you keep writing?
    I started because I’ve always had stories to tell. I think I keep writing for the same reason, and also because I don’t give up.
  7. What’s the hardest thing you’ve written?
    Country in Chaos, which was so hard I haven’t rewritten, even though it needs a rewrite. The Red Tattoo would be the second hardest.
  8. Is there a project you want to tackle someday but you don’t feel ready yet?
    I’ve got a superhero idea, but I haven’t been able to come up with an epic twisty ending for it, so I haven’t tackled it yet.
    I also have an idea for a story involving a girl who gets in an online relationship with a guy, then finds out he isn’t on Earth, but I’d kind of want it to be funny, and it’d have romance. I don’t do well with romance or humor, so I don’t know if it’ll ever get written.
  9. What writing goals did you make for 2017 and how are they going?
    I want to be self-published or have agent/publisher interest by the end of the year. So far, no luck, though I did get Country in Chaos printed.
  10. Describe your writing process in 3 words or a gif!
    I’ll just do three things.
    Writing the First Draft = fun
    Writing the Second Draft = Still fun but getting a bit stressful
    Editing = Can I hide now?
About Jessi L. Roberts

I live and work on my family’s cattle ranch in eastern Montana. I have a flock of chickens, a hyper golden retriever, some cows, and a few horses. I enjoy fantasy and science fiction and my head is full of wild sci-fi story ideas, some involving apocalypses and others involving aliens. I have been published twice in Havok Magazine, an imprint of Splickity.
This entry was posted in Blogging Related and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

